The power of hope

First signs of spring 2016

There is a lot of solace to be found in the simple act of writing. This Holy week I have been reflecting on the power of Hope. Each of us, whether we are Christian, Muslim, Jew or atheist, can understand the incredible capacity of people who despite all adversities maintain a spirit of hope, confident that a better way is possible. Even amidst the constant threats of violence, injustice and death, Hope remains alive.

I see it everyday.

I see it in the determined faces of the adult refugees I work with; I see it in the enduring friendships I’ve had that have carried me through tough times; I see it the trees and flowers wanting to make everything come back to life. Hope is palpable.

So, I ask you, my readers, where do you see hope in your everyday life?

As a daughter, I find hope in my mother’s relentless kindness, courage and sense of fun she exudes amidst the challenges she faces.

As a friend and partner, I find hope in the late night ice cream runs, road trips and the defiant phone calls )instead of texts) detemined to prove hearing your friend’s voice, both the laughter and pain filled moments, are always better than emojis.

As a woman, I find hope in friendships with older women, the mentors, in my life who never cease to amaze me with their well-lived but not weary, “let’s get down to work” spirit.

As a Christian, I find hope in the resurrection Christ brings.

Hope is in all of this.

Wherever you are on your life journey or spiritual path:  May this season of hope bring you a greater awareness of the new life that is found in the here and now.

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

